Articles

flapping bird to dragon

In The Dragon in My Mind on June 24, 2011 by romie

Fascinated with the variety of origami dragons that I saw in books and in the internet, I thought of creating my own. But how? What base would I use? The models I’ve posted here so far were constructed from the fish base. But my very first origami dragon model is actually a modification of the classic flapping bird as shown above which mom taught me when I was a kid. The modification involves using a stretched bird base, pulling or reverse-folding the tail down, and reverse-folding it upward such that the upper edge of the tail is horizontal and aligns with the base of the bird.

Lately, I came up with another dragon model by folding the classic flapping bird using this time the technique of border grafting introduced by Robert J. Lang in his book Origami Design Secrets. The technique gave an extra paper to fold in each corner, which I then folded into a preliminary base and then petal-folded. The final form was obtained by making some adjustments on the head and wings.

Leave a Reply

