Articles

five-point star box

In Uncategorized on April 4, 2015 by romi

  
The classic star box has four points or decorative flaps, folded from a square paper. The model above, which has five flaps, is folded from a pentagon-shaped paper. I used a gift wrapping paper, cut a square from it and transformed the sheet into a pentagon using the method I learned from Kunihiko Kasahara’s “The Art and Wonder of Origami”. 

In his book “Amazing Origami”, Kasahara featured a 6-point vase folded from a hexagon paper. The folding method would be quite difficult for a beginner. He then challenges the reader to try to fold the vase from other regular polygon. The method I used for the model above is much easier. It’s actually similar to the one used in folding the classic 4-point star box.

After folding it, I gave it to my niece as a birthday gift. :-)fter folding the box, I gave it to my niece as a birthday gift. 🙂

Leave a Reply

